What Should I Bring On My First Boston Cannabis Dispensary Trip?August 28, 2023
It’s finally time—you’ve thought about going to a cannabis dispensary. Now, you have committed to the trip and picked your location. What comes next? If...
Yes, recreational weed is finally legal in Massachusetts. That doesn’t mean that there aren’t any restrictions on it at all, though. Just like with alcohol, state laws put limits on the ways that marijuana can be bought, sold, advertised, and consumed, including the rules for buying weed in Massachusetts that is covered with cannabis insurance. Here are some frequently asked questions regarding the purchase of weed in Boston to help you avoid any unnecessary fines or unpleasant interactions with the police.
The age restriction on recreational marijuana in Boston is the same as the drinking age: 21. If you intend to enter a dispensary and make a purchase, make sure you have your ID on you. The laws for medical marijuana differ from recreational laws. If you have a qualifying condition, you can receive a Massachusetts medical marijuana card and begin purchasing at the age of 18.
State law permits the purchase of up to one ounce of flower or five grams of concentrate at a time. You can purchase up to 20 servings of edibles at a time, which can be up to 100 milligrams of THC. For one visit to a dispensary, that’s a fair amount of THC content, but you can’t just pop in and clear out the entire inventory.
Although there is a limit of one ounce of flower and five grams of concentrate as far as single purchases go, possession is a different story. You’re allowed to hold up to ten ounces of marijuana in your home. That’s enough for you to start up a pretty nice collection, just make sure it’s locked up securely.
If you’re on the street, though, the one-ounce or five-gram rule still applies. You also can’t go out in public, or drive around in your vehicle, with an open container of weed. This will earn you a fine of $500, so respect the law and keep it sealed up.
In Boston, any person over the age of 21 can purchase and enjoy recreational marijuana. You cannot, however, cross state lines while still in possession of any weed you purchased in Massachusetts. This law does not only apply to states in which recreational weed is still illegal, either. Federal law prohibits the crossing of any state lines while in possession of marijuana.
In other words: unless you want the feds involved with your cannabis tourism, don’t do it.
Now that you know the legal limits of purchasing recreational marijuana around here, you’re probably looking to exercise your rights and make a purchase of your own. Well, provided you’re 21 or older and you have a valid ID, you won’t find a shortage of great weed in Massachusetts. And if you’re looking for a high-quality cannabis dispensary in Boston, Pure Oasis is your spot. For any further questions, call 617-420-6873 and speak to a Budtender today.
Are you at least 21 years old?